President’s Council Members

The PIC Chair is appointed by the President.  Membership of the PIC will be broad-based, ensuring representation from students, staff and faculty.

  1. Provost and Vice President, Academic (Chair)
  2. Faculty representatives (11)
  3. Students (4 Undergraduate, Graduate, including international students, YFS & YUGSA representatives)
  4. Administrative Units (Research, Advancement, Students, York International)
  5. Secretariat support by York International


Name Department/Unit Faculty/Division
Lisa Philipps Provost and Vice President, Academic CHAIR
Lily M Cho Associate Dean, Global & Community Engagement LA & PS
Pablo Idahosa Professor, African Studies & College Head LA & PS
Les Jacobs York Research Chair in Human Rights and Access to Justice, Director, Institute for Social Research LA & PS
Shahirose Premji Director, School of Nursing Faculty of Health
Lorna Wright Associate Professor of International Business & Organization Studies & Executive Director Centre for Global Enterprise Schulich School of Business
Roger Keil Global Suburbanisms Faculty of Environmental Sciences
Roopa Desai Trilokekar Associate Professor, International Education Faculty of Education
Colin M Coates Professor of Canadian Studies Glendon
Craig M. Scott Professor of Public & Private International Law Osgoode Hall Law School
Mary Helen Armour Department of Science & Technology Studies Faculty of Science
John Gales Assistant Professor, Department of Civil Engineering Lassonde School of Engineering
Ian Garrett Theatre School of Arts, Media, Performance, Design
Thomas Leobel Dean and Associate Vice President Faculty of Graduate Studies

Administrative Units

Name Department/Unit Faculty/Division
Neville McGuire Chief of Staff Office of the President
Julie Lafford Executive Director, Alumni Relations Advancement
Rui Wang or designate Interim Vice-President Research & Innovation Vice-President Research & Innovation
Lucy Fromowitz or designate Vice Provost, Students Office of Vice Provost, Students
Vinitha Gengatharan Executive Director York International
Isaac Garcia Sitton Director, International Education School of Continuing Studies, YUELI


Name Department/Unit Faculty/Division
Rawan Habib President York Federation of Students
Jake Okechukwu Effoduh Ph.D Candidate, Osgoode International Graduate Student
Yolanda Weima Ph.D Candidate, Geography YUGSA
Zachary Gouveia 4th year UG & 1 year exchange in Japan LA & PS
Jason Ma 2nd year UG (China) - Finance LA & PS
Prince Barpaga 4th year UG (India) – Computer Science Lassonde School of Engineering